JudoFire
(.224 member)
16/06/23 04:38 AM
Re: Double Rifles and Regulation

Newbie here, fixing to build and regulate my own DR soon.
I thought it was a good read and pretty much on par with the research I have done thus far on the project.
Having zero experience with regulating and only knowing what I have read. Im not going to pull my hair out looking for perfection.
I wont tell you that Im going to try for a common POI or that I will end end up with right barrel right, left barrel left. For one thing, I dont think I can shoot well enough for it to make a difference and for another thing, I cant hold myself to trying to regulate with that kind of precision. I mean we're talking the difference of 3/4" or so (or about 2cm for you metric guys. LOL) between shooting POI or parallel.
That small difference isnt going to make any difference to me at 80 to 100 yards. Human error is worth at least that much and Im not building it to shoot prairie dogs.
My goal is to regulate to shoot a group I can live with. If I can hit a 110mm clay skeet target at 100 yards (92 meters) with both barrels, I couldnt give a rip less which barrel hit where. Thats a group I can live with and I would be happy with it. Thats about 4 MOA and plenty tight enough to ethically harvest anything Ill be shooting at.
95% of the time the rifle will be used to hunt deer in southern Michigan and in my 27 years of deer hunting, I have only ever shot one over 50 yards. It may find its way on my next mountain lion hunt although I am bowhunter and the last two times Ive gone mountain lion hunting, I have used my bow. Those dont offer long shots either. Dogs chase the cat up a tree, you shoot the cat out of the tree. 4 MOA accuracy at maybe 50 or 60 feet. At that range is a group of less than 17mm.