Home | Ezine | Forums | Links | Contact
NitroExpress.com: choosing a PH for Cape Buffalo and Hippo

View recent messages : 24 hours | 48 hours | 7 days | 14 days | 30 days | 60 days | More Smilies

*** Enjoy NitroExpress.com? Participate and join in. ***

Hunting >> Hunting in Africa & hunting dangerous game

Nyati50
.224 member

Reged: 15/03/12
Loc: PA, USA
choosing a PH for Cape Buffalo and Hippo
      21/03/12 03:23 AM

I would like to book a hunt for Cape Buffalo and perhaps hippo. I am new to this game, but have always wanted to hunt Africa and now I want to make it a reality. I have devoted my life to studying Africa's flora and fauna and have amassed quite a collection of primarily African caliber rifles that I have shot religiously for almost 40 years. It is now time to "get off the pot" and actually make the hunt happen. I am in the process of purchasing a double as I have always envisioned myself doing this with a double. I have more than enough bolt guns in calibers 9.3x62mm through .458 Lott. I also have a nice Ruger Number 1 in .450/400 Nitro that I am getting good results from, but I am about to purchase a .500 Nitro double. My question, since I am not even a rookie yet, is who would be a great PH. I have had correspondence with Mark Sullivan for many years. I know some on this forum don't particularly like Mark, but I have a good relationship with him. I have talked with other PHs and unfortunately Jan Swart got himself into a pickle with a few leopards so I have ruled him out. We used to correspond frequently. My primary concern is a hunt for Cape Buffalo. I am not interested in "sniping" a Cape Buffalo. While I am not looking for a charge, I certainly want a "fair chase" hunt and do not want a 50 or 60 yard shot. I shoot well, but prefer to get as close as is prudent. I deer and bear hunt that way. I never use blinds or tree stands for anything in the States and prefer to do it the old fashion way of stalking. I understand that much of Africa's game