Home | Ezine | Forums | Links | Contact
NitroExpress.com: Be warned !

View recent messages : 24 hours | 48 hours | 7 days | 14 days | 30 days | 60 days | More Smilies

*** Enjoy NitroExpress.com? Participate and join in. ***

Hunting >> Hunting in Africa & hunting dangerous game

shakari
.400 member

Reged: 09/02/03
Loc: South Africa
Re: Be warned !
      08/06/04 07:58 AM

An interesting and accurate post..... but those who have been to the Zambezi Valley will well know that hardly a night goes by that one can't hear drumming from one native village or another which are an attempt to drive crop raiding Elephants out of the mealie patches. Hence it's not a great problem to get a licence for a crop raider. (in fact from my experience, it's pretty damn easy) I guess I've been hunting the Valley on and off for well over 10 years and I don't think I can think of a single hunt where I haven't been asked if anyone wants to take a crop raider. Perhaps other forum members who have also had actual experience of the Valley can let us know of their experiences. As you say, the authorisation is usually given to the game guard or (from my experience) more usually the concession holder. Certainly, I would always deal with the concession owner rather than the game guard as I never trust a game guard anywhere in Africa to do any more than smell bad.