Home | Ezine | Forums | Links | Contact
NitroExpress.com: To mr Zihn and all of you building guns...

View recent messages : 24 hours | 48 hours | 7 days | 14 days | 30 days | 60 days | More Smilies

*** Enjoy NitroExpress.com? Participate and join in. ***

Shooting & Reloading - Mausers, Big Bores and others >> Handguns

CowboyCS
.333 member

Reged: 05/10/07
Loc: Kansas u.S.A.
Re: To mr Zihn and all of you building guns...
      10/03/09 06:49 AM

You mean, I know something you don't Steve???? I'm shocked.
I'm not a lawyer and don't even pretend to play one on the internet, so if any of this is in error I apologize and you should check with the BATFE for clarification. Here's the story from ATF from the top of my head. In a muzzleloader it doesn't matter whether it is rifled or not, nor does bore size matter to ATF. When it comes to Cartridge pistols, ATF says that any thing over a .500 bore is a destructive device, doesn't matter whether it is rifled or not. You can apply for an Any Other Weapon permit(AOW) I don't remember off the top of my head what the tax for that is, but they get their money if you want to build one. The ATF says it must be rifled if it is shorter than the overall standards for a shotgun(18" barrel length, 26" overall),no smoothbores under the shotgun standard. The ATF also says that it can only fire one barrel at a time from one pull of the trigger, that doesn't mean you can't pull both triggers at the same time, but it must only fire one barrel from a single pull of the trigger, otherwise you have a machinegun and that requires a $200 tax and a whole different set of paper work. In a howdah configuration the legal limit in the u.S.A. would be .500 caliber, with either individual triggers or with a selective trigger and it must have the minimum rifling that would make it classify as a pistol. It must also meet all of the NFA and GCA requirements for a pistol.