Home | Ezine | Forums | Links | Contact
NitroExpress.com: Suitable screwdrivers

View recent messages : 24 hours | 48 hours | 7 days | 14 days | 30 days | 60 days | More Smilies

*** Enjoy NitroExpress.com? Participate and join in. ***

Double Rifles, Single Shots & Combinations >> Building Double Rifles & Gunsmithing

tinker
.416 member

Reged: 12/03/05
Loc: Nevada
Re: Suitable screwdrivers
      25/06/08 02:45 PM

Xausa-

For fine guns, it's typically necessary to make a set of screwdrivers (turnscrews would be considered proper vernacular in high buck, high pinky finger company) for each gun, or to have a very broad selection of screwdrivers.
I have a lot of special screwdrivers, but I've been a machinist for most of my adult life.

This process assumes the screw slots have parallel walls.
Not all gun screw slots have parallel walls, so do what you can to determine this feature before you take this particular approach.
If the slots are vee shaped (wider at the mouth, narrower at the root) the general notion of this process can be used, with the obvious distinction that you're going to need to match the profile of the screw.

Start with a very good quality screwdriver.
Equally important is a good grinder motor with a true, round, flat faced wheel.
You'll want a diamond wheel dresser for the truing and flat-facing of the wheel.
This is one of those grinder operations where the tool rest is useful for the truing operation, but will likely get in your way for the screwdriver prep part of the operation.
Also, I don't have guards around the wheels on my grinder motors, and I can't suggest you do the same, you'd have to take that kind of risk on your own. I just find them distracting, and I always wear polycarbonate safety glasses when in my machine shop.

Once the grinding wheel is true and it's face is flat, I gently bring the width of the blade to nearly the width of the screw slot.