Home | Ezine | Forums | Links | Contact
NitroExpress.com: Lee Speed project

View recent messages : 24 hours | 48 hours | 7 days | 14 days | 30 days | 60 days | More Smilies

*** Enjoy NitroExpress.com? Participate and join in. ***

Shooting & Reloading - Mausers, Big Bores and others >> Lee Speed Forum & Archive

Pages: 1
Evan
.224 member

Reged: 19/12/21
Loc: British Columbia
Lee Speed project
      #359695 - 27/12/21 10:16 AM

I have a soft spot for Lee Metford and Lee Enfield rifles. I've been restoring lee Enfield's for a few years now. mostly I work on restoring the pre SMLE rifles. I like the Lee's that have a 30" or a 21" barrel. I have always like building sporters with the ones that cant be restored. I also like rebarreling them to other calibers using barrel nuts like the cooey carcano uses to install their barrels. I've build Lee Enfield/Metford receivers into at least 9 different calibers ranging from a 25-20 to a 43 mauser and 45/70

I've always wanted to build a really nice sporting rifle on a lee action. but every one I build always falls short of what I'm looking for. I have had a few lee speed over the years and they give me a feeling that the sporters I build done. so I then knew I needed to rid my self of the milsurplus parts and build a real sporter.

I started with a LEC receiver I got on trade that had all the marks scrubbed already. so it was prefect, the cleanest of all lee enfield/metford receivers and not able to be restored. (I have a real soft spot for LEC/LMC rifles, I even reproduce LEC/LMC and MLM/MLE nose caps for them made in 1018 steel on CNC machine, some of you may have seen them)

after I got the receiver cleaned up I send it to a friend for CCH then went to work on the other parts.