Home | Ezine | Forums | Links | Contact
NitroExpress.com: Double rifle zeroing quandry/issue

View recent messages : 24 hours | 48 hours | 7 days | 14 days | 30 days | 60 days | More Smilies

*** Enjoy NitroExpress.com? Participate and join in. ***

Double Rifles, Single Shots & Combinations >> Double Rifles

Pages: 1
Brian
.224 member

Reged: 03/02/05
Loc: NY (Delaware County)
Double rifle zeroing quandry/issue
      #272184 - 26/10/15 11:24 AM

Let me preface this by saying that my accuracy expectations are based on my experiences with my Chapuis 9.3x74R. That rifle spoiled me; it put 2 pair into 1 1/2” at 100 yards all day long. So, that is my gold standard to judge by. Maybe that is wrong but it’s my baseline to compare against.
Which way to zero a double rifle with what I call only fair accuracy. The factory standard for the company that built this rifle is 10 CM at 100 M so its within factory specs. I have been shooting double rifles for 15 years now and am not an expert but no beginner either. There is always more than one way to look at a problem and I am asking for opinions and insight to possible similar situations and solutions you may have come up with.

I am using Norma 150 Gr. Factory loaded 7x57R ammunition. I have also tried Privi 139 and get similar results. Scope factory mounted and regulated (Leupold 2x7 VX-R scope) in EAW mounts.
Shooting with rifle on my hands, my hands supported with a sandbag in front and up against my shoulder at rear. Fore end is gripped by my hand.

My 7x57R double rifle shoots 2 pair into about 3 1/2-4 inches at 100 yards. Each barrel puts its two shots to its respective side of the bull. Right barrel to right side etc. each barrel puts two shots within an inch of each other.

So, here is my question.