Home | Ezine | Forums | Links | Contact
NitroExpress.com: 7mm or .308? Lefty Auto, Lefty Bolt Action, or Lever?

View recent messages : 24 hours | 48 hours | 7 days | 14 days | 30 days | 60 days | More Smilies

*** Enjoy NitroExpress.com? Participate and join in. ***

Hunting >> Hunting in the Americas

Pages: 1 | 2 | >> (show all)
7mmNewbie
.224 member

Reged: 30/05/12
Loc: Florida
7mm or .308? Lefty Auto, Lefty Bolt Action, or Lever?
      #209871 - 02/06/12 02:39 PM

Alright. I'm new to hunting and I think I have chosen my caliber, The 7mm.(If anyone has anything to say about the .308 vs 7mm debate raging on in my head, now would be great.) I will be hunting deer for now and Elk sometime in the future. I need A good gun for under 2,500. Please help me!!!

Edited by 7mmNewbie (02/06/12 02:40 PM)

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
tinker
.416 member

Reged: 12/03/05
Loc: Nevada
Re: 7mm or .308? Lefty Auto, Lefty Bolt Action, or Lever? [Re: 7mmNewbie]
      #209888 - 03/06/12 12:45 AM

Welcome to the site!

Judging from your screen name it looks like you're leaning in the direction of the 7mm

There are lots of cartridges from which to choose - are you just talking about bullet diameter or are you specific to the .308Win and the 7mmRemMag..?

Where are your hunts?
Is this close wooded stalking or tree stands or wide open ranges ..?
Have you been out scouting?
Is there additional budget for binoculars and a pack frame and other field gear?

It's great you've chosen to pursue hunting.
Don't beat yourself up on caliber choice, soon that step will be behind you and you'll be in the field!

Cheers
Tinker

--------------------
--Self-Appointed Colonel, DRSS--

"It IS a dangerous game, and so named for a reason, and you can't play from the keyboard. " --Some Old Texan...

DarylS
.700 member

Reged: 10/08/05
Loc: Beautiful British Columbia, Ca...
Re: 7mm or .308? Lefty Auto, Lefty Bolt Action, or Lever? [Re: tinker]
      #209893 - 03/06/12 01:07 AM