Home | Ezine | Forums | Links | Contact
NitroExpress.com: The 9,3x74R Double Rifle, is it the Holy Grail?

View recent messages : 24 hours | 48 hours | 7 days | 14 days | 30 days | 60 days | More Smilies

*** Enjoy NitroExpress.com? Participate and join in. ***

Double Rifles, Single Shots & Combinations >> Double Rifles

Pages: 1 | 2 | >> (show all)
NE450No2
.375 member

Reged: 10/01/03
The 9,3x74R Double Rifle, is it the Holy Grail?
      #19813 - 19/10/04 06:38 AM

Many posters are always asking which new rifle to buy? what calibre? double of bolt? Many say they cannot afford a double, especially since most people think they will not use a big bore double that much. While I would want a bigger gun if I was a PH, or if I knew I was going to make multiple trips to Africa and shoot multiple buff and elephant, There is one calibre double that bears taking a look at.
I have been using a 9,3x74R Chapuis double rifle for over 6 years. I have 2 scopes for it, a 2.5-8 Leupold with the heavy duplex, and a Swarovski 1.5-6x42 with the illuminated circle dot reticle. Both are in QD mounts.
This rifle just may be the best Allround rifle on the Planet. There might be times when you might want a more powerful rifle [as stated above], and it might not be the best antelope, sheep and goat rifle, but if you can aford those types of hunts, you can afford more rifles.
For everything else including brown bear and the occasional buffalo or elephant the 9,3x74R will do the job, and it is not too big for all the other stuff. It is a rifle you can use on almost every hunt.
My Chapuis weighs 7 1/4 lbs without the scope. It handles like a fine .410 shotgun. The stock works well with iron sights and fits perfect with the scope. My rifle is the UGEX, the lowest price of the Chapuis. The 9,3x74R's are usually much less expensive than the bigger bores.
I have used loads from 193 grains to 300 grains. Mostly I use 286 grain bullets.