Home | Ezine | Forums | Links | Contact
NitroExpress.com: Need advice on which powder to use???

View recent messages : 24 hours | 48 hours | 7 days | 14 days | 30 days | 60 days | More Smilies

*** Enjoy NitroExpress.com? Participate and join in. ***

Shooting & Reloading - Mausers, Big Bores and others >> Muzzleloaders & Blackpowder

Pages: 1
pjb
.224 member

Reged: 02/06/07
Loc: South Carolina
Need advice on which powder to use???
      #81196 - 24/06/07 04:12 AM

I'm trying to figure out which powder or powder substitute to use in my brand new kodiak .72. I'm new to muzzleloading. I hear a lot of good things about Swiss powder. How about GOEX Express or Graf & Sons? Do many use H777? Thanks PJB

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Dphariss
.300 member

Reged: 18/04/06
Loc: Montana
Re: Need advice on which powder to use??? [Re: pjb]
      #81987 - 07/07/07 04:58 PM

I would stay with BP.
FFG should work fine.

Dan

Tatume
.400 member

Reged: 09/06/07
Loc: Gloucester, Va USA
Re: Need advice on which powder to use??? [Re: Dphariss]
      #81989 - 07/07/07 08:27 PM

I use Hodgden 777, and love it. It works well, and is the easiest to clean of any black powder substitute I've tried. It is far easier to clean than black powder. I also recommend T/C 1000+ Bore Butter. However, regardless of any advertising claims, same-day cleaning is mandatory. Take care, Tom

DarylSModerator
.700 member

Reged: 10/08/05
Loc: Beautiful British Columbia, Ca...
Re: Need advice on which powder to use??? [Re: Tatume]
      #82011 - 08/07/07 04:00 AM

I'm with Dan. I'd use real BP, and in 2F granulation. I would not under any circumstances use bore butter. Tests and results from other shooters shows it builds up in the bore. Black powder gives closer shot to shot pressures and therefore better accuracy potential.