Home | Ezine | Forums | Links | Contact
NitroExpress.com: A few big bore projects

View recent messages : 24 hours | 48 hours | 7 days | 14 days | 30 days | 60 days | More Smilies

*** Enjoy NitroExpress.com? Participate and join in. ***

Shooting & Reloading - Mausers, Big Bores and others >> Big Bore Rifles

Pages: 1
Evan
.224 member

Reged: 19/12/21
Loc: British Columbia
A few big bore projects
      #359694 - 27/12/21 09:53 AM

Hi I'm new here but not to guns. I worked as a manual machinists for 18 years before moving to an off grid island in British Columbia with my Wife and 3 kids for an interesting job for a few years, quite the life style change but I do still have a lathe here and can still do some work.

here are a few projects of mine that I have put together over the last few years. I still own all of them posted. I build these projects for a hobby and I love big bore rifles.

first off is my 43 express (11.35x62) rifle. (to make the brass you take any 375HH family case and trim it to 62mm and run it through a 43 Mauser sizing die) its a large ring Mauser that accepts a small shank barrel, it has a 71/84 Mauser barrel on it. the barrel threads were 1.000" 12tpi and the receiver was .980" 12tpi so I just picked up the barrel threads on the lathe and cut them 0.010" deeper with a 55* tool. feed and functions great. holds 3 in the mag and 1 in the chamber. I just realized I don't have pics of this rifle completed. ill take some new one here soon. its nothing special but it looks better then just the barreled action. it shoots a 365gr .447" cast bullet at 1925 fps for 3000 ft-lb of energy at the muzzle

[]

[]

[]