Home | Ezine | Forums | Links | Contact
NitroExpress.com: German retailed m1908

View recent messages : 24 hours | 48 hours | 7 days | 14 days | 30 days | 60 days | More Smilies

*** Enjoy NitroExpress.com? Participate and join in. ***

Shooting & Reloading - Mausers, Big Bores and others >> Mannlicher Discussion forum & Archive

Pages: 1
themauserkid
.275 member

Reged: 21/06/15
Loc: Texas
German retailed m1908
      #343514 - 23/07/20 02:17 AM

I recently bought a 1908 retailed in Suhl, and had a question on the scope mounts. I’m not sure if they are Austrian or German in original but they are numbered to the rifle and marked O.Sch. on the rings as well as down inside the mill cut for the front block. Anyone have a clue what maker this is, it maybe common but I’m relatively new to M-S. They are a little higher than typical as it has a Zielsechs and needs the room to unseat the claws and clear that larger objective.

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
93x64mm
.416 member

Reged: 07/12/11
Loc: Nth QLD Australia
Re: German retailed m1908 [Re: themauserkid]
      #343553 - 23/07/20 10:16 PM

Rothhammer will be your man here matey - knows his MS's!
If our European members like Rolf or Kuduae chime in they might also know straight off the cuff.

Rothhammer1
.400 member

Reged: 06/01/17
Loc: The Redwoods of California
Re: German retailed m1908 [Re: 93x64mm]
      #343584 - 24/07/20 02:56 PM

Quote:

Rothhammer will be your man here matey - knows his MS's!
If our European members like Rolf or Kuduae chime in they might also know straight off the cuff.

Sadly, I must disappoint.

From what I've read, scope mounting of the pre WW2 MS was done outside of the Steyr factory. It was 'farmed out' to local guild craftsmen or was simply aftermarket. Some were of the 'Vienna snapper' type, some claw mount. Parts of early MS scope mounts very seldom interchange.