Home | Ezine | Forums | Links | Contact
NitroExpress.com: Paradox questions

View recent messages : 24 hours | 48 hours | 7 days | 14 days | 30 days | 60 days | More Smilies

*** Enjoy NitroExpress.com? Participate and join in. ***

Double Rifles, Single Shots & Combinations >> Paradox and Bore Guns

Pages: 1
EDELWEISS
.375 member

Reged: 22/11/05
Loc: Gettysburg
Paradox questions
      #341847 - 07/06/20 09:04 AM

Im new to Paradox guns and Im struggling with a few questions. Ive been hunting with double rifles for years; but I haven jumped into a Paradox yet. I'll probably be using my Paradox for medium game, mostly Wild Boar and possibly Whitetail.

I think Im looking for a 10 or 12ga. Ive seen some loaded ammo; but Im open to reloading with BP (or substitutes) or smokeless. Most of the factory loaded rounds are conical, with some round ball; but Ive also seen references to three ball loads.

Ive seen barrels from 22" to 30+ inches. Is there and optimum length? Something around 24-26" seems good to my novice eye.

Is there a standard "zero" range for Paradox guns? My typical hunting range is 100yrds or (preferably) less

Im at the point where I think I know...but Im not sure what I dont know. Im sure this may sound naïve to you experienced guys. So Im open to learning--thanks

--------------------
If it's not custom, it's just borrowed

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
DarylS
.700 member

Reged: 10/08/05
Loc: Beautiful British Columbia, Ca...
Re: Paradox questions [Re: EDELWEISS]
      #341861 - 07/06/20 01:03 PM

I agree a 24" to 26" would be all that is necessary and a 12 bore would work fine.
I personally would prefer a round ball gun, as a .730" (583gr.) to .740" (620gr.) ball has all the weight necessary and higher vel.
than the heavier conical- for hunting the animals you mention.
Higher velocity means flatter trajectory and a longer point blank range. This becomes important past 75yards or so.