Home | Ezine | Forums | Links | Contact
NitroExpress.com: CZ SAFARI RIFLES???

View recent messages : 24 hours | 48 hours | 7 days | 14 days | 30 days | 60 days | More Smilies

*** Enjoy NitroExpress.com? Participate and join in. ***

Shooting & Reloading - Mausers, Big Bores and others >> Big Bore Rifles

Pages: 1
msorenso
.224 member

Reged: 02/02/05
Loc: SOUTH DAKOTA, USA
CZ SAFARI RIFLES???
      #33058 - 14/06/05 10:34 PM

I AM NEW TO CZ SAFARI RIFLES BUT FROM WHAT I READ IT IS NOT GOOD. WHAT HAPPEND? HAS C-Z ALWAYS BEEN LIKE THIS. I EVEN CONSIDERED ONE OF THEIR HIGHER END 505 GIBBS AND 404 JEFFERY LINE, BUT I READ WHERE SOMEONE ORDERED ONE AND HAD PROBLEMS AS WELL.. CAN ANYONE COMMENT?

--------------------
LIVE FREE OR DIE

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Mike_McGuire
.333 member

Reged: 11/06/05
Loc: Sydney Australia
Re: CZ SAFARI RIFLES??? [Re: msorenso]
      #33061 - 14/06/05 11:17 PM

msorenso

I would say on the forums the CZ has one of the best of "happy owners" of just about all rifles.

I think the trouble rifle you are referring to was a 458 Win or 458 Lott and both of those calibres are bordeline feeders because the chamber is not much bigger then the bullet diameter, a problem with blunt bullets. The round only needs to be slightly off line and the bullet catches the edge of the chamber. Being CRF rifles you only need a rough bolt face or extractor that causes resistance to the case silding under the extractor (which it must do while at an angle) and the round will dip a bit and that is not good for 458 Win or Lott. Incorrect case rim diameter and or extracor groove depth is another potential problem.

404 and 505 are bottle neck calibres so the chamber diameter is quite a big bigger than the bullet diameter.