Home | Ezine | Forums | Links | Contact
NitroExpress.com: Lyman 36 from Gewehr 88 'Commission' on Ebay

View recent messages : 24 hours | 48 hours | 7 days | 14 days | 30 days | 60 days | More Smilies

*** Enjoy NitroExpress.com? Participate and join in. ***

Shooting & Reloading - Mausers, Big Bores and others >> Mannlicher Discussion forum & Archive

Pages: 1
Rothhammer1
.400 member

Reged: 06/01/17
Loc: The Redwoods of California
Lyman 36 from Gewehr 88 'Commission' on Ebay
      #326853 - 05/04/19 05:03 PM

Link: Ebay

Text of listing:

EX. RARE LYMAN MODEL 36 MANNLICHER SCHOENAUER RIFLE SIGHT 88 COMMISSION RIFLE
Description
Presented for your consideration is this extremely rare Lyman Model 36 peep sight intended for the Mannlicher family of rifle actions. This sight is in untouched, uncleaned, as-found condition with a conservative 80-90% of the original blue finish remaining. The Lyman Model 36 is one of the most desirable of Lyman peep sights. While I am not an expert in the minutiae of Lyman sights, different variations of rifles employing the split rear receiver ring characteristic of the Mannlicher system and variations within the Mannlicher-Schoenauer family of rifles called for different variations of the Lyman Model 36 peep sight. I don't think Lyman assigned specific model numbers to all of these variations, but instead lumped them under the Model 36 designation. Lyman did letter code their sights and this one has the code "M H" stamped on the reverse of the scale. I know for certain that this sight is one rare bird. I removed this sight from a WWI bringback Gewehr 88 Commission Carbine. Every other Lyman Model 36 I have encountered is configured differently either for use on the Greek 1903, early M-S rifles and carbines, etc. Study the photos carefully and compare them to other Lyman Model 36 peep sights and you will see what I mean. If someone says Lyman didn't make one for the Commission Rifle/Carbine I would beg to differ. I'm away from my arsenal