Home | Ezine | Forums | Links | Contact
NitroExpress.com: Lure of the Flintlock

View recent messages : 24 hours | 48 hours | 7 days | 14 days | 30 days | 60 days | More Smilies

*** Enjoy NitroExpress.com? Participate and join in. ***

Shooting & Reloading - Mausers, Big Bores and others >> Muzzleloaders & Blackpowder

Pages: 1
cordite
.333 member

Reged: 29/01/07
Loc: NW Montana
Lure of the Flintlock
      #313461 - 04/03/18 03:52 AM

I enjoy all kinds of guns which has been hard on my pocketbook. I've been shooting and hunting with percussion guns for nearly 40 years. I stayed away from flintlocks probably because I bought the story that they are finicky and unreliable.

A few years ago I decided to get a flintlock. There is nothing to compare with the challenge of shooting one well with that pan going off next to your face. I have found them to be extremely reliable if one really takes the time to learn their care and feeding.

Now my other guns get much less use. I'm getting my reproduction flint 11 gauge smoothbore ready for spring bear season. Why would a normally rational person with a safe full of modern guns do this?

If you are the sort of person who enjoys the connection between guns and history and likes the challenge of becoming good at something most people haven't a clue about, give the flintlock a try.

[image]

[/image]

Edited by cordite (04/03/18 03:56 AM)

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
DarylSModerator
.700 member

Reged: 10/08/05
Loc: Beautiful British Columbia, Ca...
Re: Lure of the Flintlock [Re: cordite]
      #313462 - 04/03/18 04:28 AM

Hey Cordite, I think I recognize the fellow in the picture, from a different forum perhaps. Maybe not. Flinters are indeed fun to shoot.

I followed the same path as you, with the moderns and cap-locks. I really had to bear down on the flinters and learn control.

My 'best' trail walk, rendezvous guns are now flintlocks.

That .75 will work well on bears! Good luck.