Home | Ezine | Forums | Links | Contact
NitroExpress.com: Using your double to its fullest

View recent messages : 24 hours | 48 hours | 7 days | 14 days | 30 days | 60 days | More Smilies

*** Enjoy NitroExpress.com? Participate and join in. ***

Double Rifles, Single Shots & Combinations >> Double Rifles

Pages: 1 | 2 | >> (show all)
NE450No2
.375 member

Reged: 10/01/03
Using your double to its fullest
      #21243 - 24/11/04 06:00 AM

Several questions in other posts prompted me to write this.
I have been using my 3 doubles for 6 to 7 years. I have used them for game from coyote, deer, pigs, caribou, bear, plains game, buff and elephant.
I have done quite a bit of shooting and experimentation with different loads and bullets.
These are some of my findings.
With a little work... sometimes not much at all, I have been able to get several different bullets to hit with the sights and regulate to the rifle. I have found all the talk about doubles being a nightmare to load for are completely false. I have had some bolt rifles that were way more "finicky" than my doubles.
Example; in my 450 No2, the 350 Hornady, 480 Woodleigh soft and solid, 500 Hornady s&s, and the 500 Swift A- Frame all hit together to 100 yards on paper.
Same with 300gr Hawks, 400gr Hawks, 300 and 400 gr Barnes X bullets, 400gr Woodleigh soft and solids in my 450/400 3 1/4".
In the 9,3x74R I can use 285 Hawk, 286 Woodleigh soft, and 286 Nosler Partition out to 200 yards with the same scope setting. At 300 yards the round nose bullets drop a few inches below the pointed Nosler. Also I discovered that at 100 yards with a Woodleigh soft in the right bbl and a Nosler Partition in the left my R/L group is a little snaller that if I shoot 2 Woodleigh's or 2 Noslers.