Home | Ezine | Forums | Links | Contact
NitroExpress.com: Woodleigh or Noma Oryx?

View recent messages : 24 hours | 48 hours | 7 days | 14 days | 30 days | 60 days | More Smilies

*** Enjoy NitroExpress.com? Participate and join in. ***

Shooting & Reloading - Mausers, Big Bores and others >> Big Bore Rifles

Pages: 1
450Dakota
.300 member

Reged: 18/03/04
Loc: California, USA
Woodleigh or Noma Oryx?
      #19334 - 21/09/04 10:55 AM

Both are bonded core bullets, is there a differance in construction and performance? I have no experiance with the Oryx, and very little with the Woodleigh. Oh, this is for cal. 9.3 286grn.

Cheer's M8's

450D

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Marrakai
.416 member

Reged: 09/01/03
Loc: Darwin, Top End of Australia
Re: Woodleigh or Noma Oryx? [Re: 450Dakota]
      #19338 - 21/09/04 08:34 PM

450Dakkers:
I have no experience with the Oryx either, but can't speak highly enough of Woodleigh Weldcores. Like several other members of this board, I have been using them for many years and can't fault their performance.

Just last weekend, I jumped a very large boar from his bed under a creek-bank, and shot him in the ham with a 400gr Woodleigh from my .400 Jeffery double. The bullet penetrated a measured 1.3 metres (yes, a BIG pig!) and was found lodged in the cheek-muscle after breaking the jaw. It was expanded right back past the base, but still weighed 390 grains! What can I say?

The weekend before, a mate took his first buffalo with a .308, using 180gr protected-point Woodleighs. Admittedly it took five shots to close the encounter (he kept trying to get back up!), and we only found one projectile, under the hide on the off-side. It was well-expanded, and when asked what I thought it might weigh, I offered "180 grains, of course!" Well I was wrong, it was 179.4 grains.