Home | Ezine | Forums | Links | Contact
NitroExpress.com: Weatherby dangerous game rifle?

View recent messages : 24 hours | 48 hours | 7 days | 14 days | 30 days | 60 days | More Smilies

*** Enjoy NitroExpress.com? Participate and join in. ***

Shooting & Reloading - Mausers, Big Bores and others >> Big Bore Rifles

Pages: 1 | 2 | (show all)
grandveneur
.400 member

Reged: 21/09/08
Loc: France / Germany
Re: Weatherby dangerous game rifle? [Re: Der_Jaeger]
      #153582 - 13/02/10 10:35 PM

Quote:

Quote:

The critique of the .416 /.460 Weatherbys has always been that people show up with them that cannot shoot them. A .416 Weatherby has been one of the first rifles I have shot as an absolute beginner in shooting and it was not problem mastering it. You do have to get used to them however, and I suspect that the 'failures' amongst its users simply did not practice at all and thought the caliber's power would do their work for them even if they couldn't shoot properly. In good hand, the .416 especially, is a very useful and versatile gun.

Agreed. Putting the .416 and .460 aside, people show up at camps all over the world with mild mannered .243s, .270s, and .300s, that cannot shoot them either. That axiom applies to any firearm; if you can't handle the caliber best suited to hunt the game you want to hunt, then hunt something else.

I agree ! If you cannot handle a 416WM or a 460WM leave the people alone that can shoot it and hunt smaller game !

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
JabaliHunter
.400 member

Reged: 16/05/07
Loc: England
Re: Weatherby dangerous game rifle? [Re: grandveneur]
      #153584 - 13/02/10 11:33 PM

At the risk of trotting out the same old argument, IMHO a DGR (dangerous game rifle) should have controlled round feeding (a la M70 or M98), although admittedly less of an issue with a DRR (dangerous rock rifle)!
For a DRR I would consider a sniper rifle in .338 Lapua, .416 Barrett or .50 BMG.

Ripp
.577 member