Home | Ezine | Forums | Links | Contact
NitroExpress.com: I Read All Of The OSR Thread, Time For The Machine Shop!

View recent messages : 24 hours | 48 hours | 7 days | 14 days | 30 days | 60 days | More Smilies

*** Enjoy NitroExpress.com? Participate and join in. ***

Double Rifles, Single Shots & Combinations >> Double Rifles

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | >> (show all)
Altamaha
.333 member

Reged: 29/12/08
Loc: Washington State USA
I Read All Of The OSR Thread, Time For The Machine Shop!
      #144547 - 27/10/09 12:57 PM

First, a few disclaimers: I do not own a double rifle, have never shot one, will never own one (but I would like to!) and likely will never handle one or shoot one. I am just a poor old retired mechanic.

Two, Enough debating on the original OSR thread, so let us not get into another debate in this thread.

Three, I have read of OSR long ago, but it was not called this, just a short wording about using monometals in doubles. Have no idea of where I read of this, might have been in a magazine or a reloading manual.

Four, I have frequented machine shops most of my life (some 65 years) during this time I have tinkered with Mausers, and played with a few pressure testing systems.

So, here goes:

Is there merit in designing a test, using turned down barrels, equipped with Dr. Oehler's strain gauge system, taking careful measurements of the barrel outside diameter, firing a monometal bullet at standard velocity, then measuring the barrel for OSR? Maybe in conjunction with pressing monometals through a turned down barrel with a hydraulic press.

As I own a machine shop, the machining will be a snap. I have access to the Oehler System, the use would take some coordination, as the chap owning it is a distance away. I have used it in the past and have a M98 action set up as a single shot test receiver, mounted on a heavy recoil block.