Home | Ezine | Forums | Links | Contact
NitroExpress.com: Westley Richards 318

View recent messages : 24 hours | 48 hours | 7 days | 14 days | 30 days | 60 days | More Smilies

*** Enjoy NitroExpress.com? Participate and join in. ***

Shooting & Reloading - Mausers, Big Bores and others >> Mauser Discussion Forum

Pages: 1 | 2 | (show all)
9.3x57
.450 member

Reged: 22/04/07
Loc: United States
Re: Westley Richards 318 [Re: ozhunter]
      #119366 - 23/11/08 12:41 PM

Quote:

For fifty pounds you could get Westley Richards to send you copies of the records of that rifle.

Well worth it.

Like the Smith and Wesson letters, very interesting and worthy in their own right. Ya never know what might turn up.

I'm with Peter on this one.

For those who don't know, I am NOT an expert on Brit bolts but know a little about Mausers.

So I have some questions;

Are legit W/R's actions engraved with the maker's name in such a crude fashion? Look at the "8" in the 318. Did the engraver cough or something or did somebody slap him on the back for such a good job right in the middle of whittling the 8?

Obviously the mounts are add-on's and I question the solder finish if W/R.

I am REALLY and truly interested in this, because if it is a legit W/R then I am learning some interesting stuff. I've seen a few {not many} W/R guns and I cannot recall any with such markings.

It is a very interesting gun.

The engraving itself is a dead ringer for the decoration on an old brass tea service a retired India missionary gave my Mom many years ago. That's literally what grabbed my eye when Peter suggested Pak/Afghan. Is it possible it is a legit W/R but engraved after the fact...?