Home | Ezine | Forums | Links | Contact
NitroExpress.com: Double rifles - what's happened? + Poll

View recent messages : 24 hours | 48 hours | 7 days | 14 days | 30 days | 60 days | More Smilies

*** Enjoy NitroExpress.com? Participate and join in. ***

Double Rifles, Single Shots & Combinations >> Double Rifles

Pages: 1
NitroXAdministrator
.700 member

Reged: 25/12/02
Loc: Barossa Valley, South Australi...
Double rifles - what's happened? + Poll
      #14040 - 27/04/04 04:02 PM

I am fairly new to the world of double rifles. Have always lusted after one, but couldn't afford them. A year or two I decided to break the bank and buy a nice plain Jeffrey double in .450. Now am planning for number two and three.

Over the years I have taken careful note of the discussions and in the very recent past a lot of people would rave and recommend good quality in good condition old English double rifles.

Some people would recommend buying a Merkel, Krieghoff, Searcy or Chapuis. Usually in terms of price. This is usually where the "wars" started as someone would rave about one maker but absolutely blast another maker.

Overtime I realised vested interests often played a part in these discussions. Some of the "players" were connected with one of the agency or 'touting' for them. I know this for a fact and know many commercial interests on the net like to market their products by stealth, ie never wanting their aliases associated with the products they sell.