Home | Ezine | Forums | Links | Contact
NitroExpress.com: What .577 cartridge and rifle is this??

View recent messages : 24 hours | 48 hours | 7 days | 14 days | 30 days | 60 days | More Smilies

*** Enjoy NitroExpress.com? Participate and join in. ***

Shooting & Reloading - Mausers, Big Bores and others >> Big Bore Rifles

Pages: 1
NorthernBob
.224 member

Reged: 09/12/07
Loc: Northern Alberta
What .577 cartridge and rifle is this??
      #112476 - 25/08/08 11:56 AM

I'm new to the big bores and hope you experts can help. I bought a single shot hammer rifle yesterday and I'm confused as to what cartridge it takes and who made it. I didn't have much time to check it out before I bought it. The place I bought it at described it as a 600 Swiss, but I can't find any indication such a cartridge exists. I'm on the road and haven't cast the chamber, but I made a few measurements with a micrometer. The diameter of the 8 groove rifleing is about .5745" (14.59mm). The chamber to the rifleing is 1.65" ( 41.9 mm). The rim diameter is around.74" (18.76mm), and the base is .66" (16.74mm). The bore is in great shape. I think it may have a tapered bore. Does this make sense to anyone? Would it be a shortened .577 Snider?