Home | Ezine | Forums | Links | Contact
NitroExpress.com: A different load for each barrel to regulate?

View recent messages : 24 hours | 48 hours | 7 days | 14 days | 30 days | 60 days | More Smilies

*** Enjoy NitroExpress.com? Participate and join in. ***

Double Rifles, Single Shots & Combinations >> Double Rifles

Pages: 1
clark7781
.375 member

Reged: 28/10/04
Loc: Fairfax County, Virginia, USA
A different load for each barrel to regulate?
      #26440 - 17/02/05 07:46 AM

Ok guys, I'm rather new to the DR world having bought my .500 Merkel midway through last year.

I know that each gun is different, and I was wondering (will take all the laughs now if this is a moronic question) but has anyone ever had to use one load for one barrel and a different load for the other?

(I know that depending on the game you are hunting, you may have a solid in one and a soft in the other barrel, but when shooting say two solids, have you ever found that your rifle regulates with a different mix [different amount of powder or different type of powder] in each barrel?)

Again, sorry if this is moronic, but I am just curious.

--------------------
Clark

Double Rifle Shooters Society
.500 NE and .577 NE

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
butchloc
.300 member

Reged: 18/12/04
Loc: faribault mn
Re: A different load for each barrel to regulate? [Re: clark7781]
      #26443 - 17/02/05 07:53 AM

not a dumb question at all, in fact I once had a double 450 that I had to do just that with. I wouldn't want to do it on a rifle I was out hunting with, but just for plinking it works fine

unspellable
.300 member

Reged: 06/03/04
Loc: Iowa
      #26479 - 18/02/05 12:41 AM

An undesirable situation, but sometimes one is forced to expediants.

SOUTHPAWTOO
.275 member

Reged: 04/12/04
Loc: Indiana, USA
      #26516 - 18/02/05 08:38 PM

Dear Clark,