(.300 member)
23/01/05 10:05 PM
binos

Any recommendations on a qualiy pair of 8*30's

ThomasEdwards
(.300 member)
24/01/05 01:10 PM
Re: binos

...top end (with concomitant pricing)...new leica ultravids...

...near top end (at a very good value, now that the ultravids have been released)...leica bn or ba series...

...medium end (tho i have no viewing experience)...new zeiss conquest series...

DPhillips
(.375 member)
24/01/05 04:25 PM

I've got a pair of Swarovski 8x30's that are just outstanding. They are about 12 or 15 years old and don't know how they compare to the newer models.

EricD
(.416 member)
24/01/05 07:54 PM

I use a pair of Swarovski 8x30 that are about 6 years old. Although they aren't as sharp as the new model that came out about a year ago, nor as sharp as the top end Leicas, they're fine for me. And very solid.

Stick to the well known makers and you can't go too wrong.

Erik

mikeh416Rigby
(.450 member)
28/01/05 01:24 PM

I've been using a pair of Leica 8 X 32s for about 9 years. They're very light, and have great optics.

Marrakai
(.416 member)
29/01/05 01:38 AM

Mike just hit the nail on the head. If they are going to be hanging round your neck day-in day-out in the hunting field, weight is THE most important criteria IMHO. All the top names are very good, and most makes are good enough, so compare their mass: you will be surprised at the range of weights across the popular models!

Taos
(.300 member)
29/01/05 07:03 AM

I have been using Kahles for the last couple of years. The are a bit heavy but the optics are superb. At a little cheaper price than the above mentioned brands. They work very well for me on a daily basis.

ozhunter
(.400 member)
31/07/07 09:27 PM

Have used Kahles, Swarovski, Zeiss and Leica.
LEICA are the Best IMO..

Rockdoc
(.400 member)
12/08/07 04:54 PM