Rell
(.375 member)
26/11/17 02:59 AM
Handgun hunting?

So I am thinking about branching out in my hunting a little. I got back from RSA a few weeks ago and took 13 bushbuck Rams in 8 days of hunting. That makes 50 rams out of my “100 Ram Project”. I love hunting these animals, as much as buffalo actually but i’m finding no real interest in most other non DG game.

I mostly use a SxS Chapuis in 9.3x74r and a 300 mag.

I’m thinking hard about adding a hunting revolver to my tool box. I have a Freedom Arms 97 in 45LC with a 5.5 octagonal barrel and adjustable sights but kind of want to step up to a heavy hitter. I want a single action and i’m thinking of another Freedom Arms. Maybe one like this;

http://www.gunbroker.com/item/719358749

I have very little experience hunting with handguns, I think I need to add a red dot to be legal in RSA but I could use some advice on how I should start down this road. Limitations, pros and cons, any adectdotale wisdom to pass on?

Thanks,

DarylS
(.700 member)
26/11/17 03:56 AM
Re: Handgun hunting?

Interesting, but I think a .460 or .500 S&W would suit me better, likely a ported .500.

cordite
(.333 member)
26/11/17 06:38 AM

I can see wanting a new gun, but, your 45 with hard cast bullets will do about anything that needs doing.

416rigby
(.300 member)
26/11/17 08:29 AM

The FA 45 Colt you have is an excellent hunting revolver for just about anything. If you simply want another one, then you can't go wrong with one in 475 Linebaugh. Mine is a 7 1/2" with a Leupold 2x in an SSK mount. This is, hands down, the strongest mount for a hunting handgun. 2x is all you need on a revolver. Mine will put 5 bullets in two inches at 100 yards all day long. It's a hammer. You can load it light with 325gr bullets for smaller game, or 425gr for big stuff. Cast bullets are the way to go, you already have a 475 inch hole.

I have two FAs, the 475, and a 6" 454 Casull with iron sights. Superb hunting guns.

Rell
(.375 member)
28/11/17 09:33 AM