DarylS
(.700 member)
21/07/08 06:44 AM
Re: Who hunts with early bore rifles - experience on large g

Hi guys - Tinker brought my attention to this thread and for that I thank him. I find large bores and round balls more than interesting.

Sorry to say, I have no experience with light charges in large bore conical shooting guns on game. My experiences do however, cover reasonable powder charges with smaller bore round ball guns, as well as those same round ball slow twist(ie: 48" or slower twist) rifles using elongated slugs, both to paper accuracy and their effects on moose. My experience also covers the 'bore' size of round balls on moose, but these two also used normal muzzleloading hunting charges, not small, short case ctg. charges.

The smallest bore size I've witnessed being used on moose was a 26" barrelled .45 cal. rifle, shootng a .440" patched round ball with 90gr. 2F powder. The moose was shot at 40 yards and ran 110yards before dropping dead, bled out from the double lung hit. The small ball was flattened against a rib on the far side, having gone between the ribs on the impact side. I do not consider the .45 round ball suitable for game the size of a B.C. moose. The same rifle, shooting Maxiballs, seemed ineffective on moose as the bullets refused to go in a straight line after impact and it took long tracking and multiple shooting to bring the moose down. My constant preaching on round balls is why the person then tried round balls in the .45, with much better success - however, I consider the .45 as a deer ball only, not for moose or elk. Had the ball hit a rib on the way in, it most likely would have failed to make the off lung, desirable for a quick kill.