RobertL
(.224 member)
13/02/14 08:27 PM
Re: J. Rigby & Co with Mauser creates – The Big Game Rifle

All

Please let me give you my opinion of the BIG GAME model.

I have taken the chance and visited the booth of Rigby at the Jagd & Hund show in Dortmund Germany, last week.
The booth was located in the hall 7, where most of the outfitters had there booth too. Directly located opposite of the Blaser safaris booth the Rigby booth (E62) was special as it had a tent and an old Land Rover (I am no LR expert) Model I.
I spend some time at the booth having the pleasure to talk with Patricia Pugh, the financial director of Rigby and to those familiar with Rigby history, a lady which is associated with Rigby since the time it belongs to Paul Roberts.

Rigby is currently offering two different Models of magazine rifles, the “BIG GAME” and the “THE LONDON BEST” .
Both are available in two variants, as single square bridge for open sight and double square bridge for scope mount.
Based on what I was told, THE LONDON BEST is build in the UK as a custom rifle, while the BIG GAME is coming from Germany with very limited options possible.

The BIG GAME model is build as single square bridge in .416” & 450” Rigby calibres both having a barrel length of 22” with the typical Rigby contoured barrel weighing unloaded as per catalogue 10lb 8oz.
The double square bridge model is available in .357” H&H & .416 ”Rigby calibre with a 24” lightweight barrels. The weight of that variant is 10lb, again as per catalogue.

I had the privilege to handle all available models (no .450 Rigby at the booth) and to say the least I was major disappointed with the quality level of the BIG GAME model.

1. The gap at the barrel between the front sight sleeve and the barrel side and also at the muzzle reminds me of cheap monoblock shotguns.