Rothhammer1
(.400 member)
02/08/20 04:57 PM
Re: Non Mannlicher rotary magazine rifles

Quote:

I've never heard of the Savage 99 having feed issues - it must of had a 'foolproof' spool magazine so to speak compared to the Mannlicher etc?
I'm no mechanical guru, but looks to me the cartridges were completely supported completely within the spool.
I know from this forum that if not using the 'correct' nose shape this would cause a jam in a Mannlicher; so was this a 'design' flaw in that system by not having full support - & how easy was it to rectify if different projectile were to be used?

Yes, it is true that the Schoenauer rotary magazines used in the Mannlicher Schoenauer models prior to M1924 are rather particular regarding cartridge profile and overall length. The spool is shaped to cradle cartridges designed specifically for it, but is open around its circumference. The magazine body and surrounding well are machined to provide additional guidance and support to the cartridges as they are fed by the spool. If cartridges of shorter or narrower profile at the 'nose' area are used they may become misaligned and jam into areas of the magazine body.

Note how nose of cartridge aligns with machined guide toward front of magazine body

Considering, however, that they were prototyped (M1900) and initially manufactured ('Greek' Y1903) as military arms I'm not so sure I'd count that as a flaw. Supply lines provided proper fitting ammunition and with such the Schoenauer magazine performs flawlessly every time.

Y 1903/14 Carbine

As long as supplies of proper fitting 6.5X54 MS were available, Y1903 Mannlicher Schoenauers did not jam, could be fed singly or charged with 'strippers' of five rounds, and were indeed highly regarded for their reliability. Other military rifles also had particular feeding habits. The highly successful Gewehr 88 'Commission Rifle', for example, was fed cartridges in en bloc 'clips' without which the rifles could not feed at all.