JohnWilkes
(.300 member)
10/11/09 09:55 AM
Re: You Carry? You a "sheep", "wolf" or "sheepdog" type??

Quote:

Quote:

Instead of worrying about carrying firearms during daily life, why not press for removing the criminal problem? Remove the source of the problem. I know easier said than done. Especially with the "ethnic" flavour of much of the problem.

Exactly - I spent 30 years of my working life as a Peace Officer & the problem is exactly in the 'court's hands, ie; politics, courts & judiceries ARE the problem, at least here, they are.

For expample - when a proposal was made by the RCMPolice Commission for ammendments to the gun bill to make it workable and have some effect on crime, the Attorney General of Canada stated that: crime prevention and having more criminals doing extended time was not the 'drive' of the legislation. That, my friends is pretty much a quote.

Good point Daryl as a former Police officer I wholeheartedly agree, the inability(unwillingness?) of the courts to meet out proper deterrents is largely the cause of much of what we see in terms of unchecked criminality and the disenchantment of law enforcement officers.

Bail in this state is seen as a "comply if you like" option with many offenders in a revolving
door of breach and new bail, breach and new bail. This was not the case 20yrs ago. Non payment of fines and costs warrants are a thing of the past.

Marrakai is right Australia is a lucky country....but, and it is a big but, most Aussies do not know how lucky they are. Because they live in an unarguably safe society they find it hard to grasp the concept of one that is less so. It is very hard for them to understand the volatile dynamics of
much of the rest of the world.I do not say this in anyway to belittle or put down my adopted country
merely to explain to others how it is here.