Chasseur
(.375 member)
06/02/06 02:14 AM
Re: Pros and cons

I'll talk about the ones I've handled or shot or owned.

Chapuis: As most people know I've a little 9.3 that I've owened, hunted with and shot for over 5 or so years. I've also handled a fair ammount of them and visited their factory back in 2001. I also have friends in Europe who use them every weekend for boar hunting

Pro: nice looking rifles (except that blasted beavertail on the big bores...), nice handling, and a good price (especialy if you buy in Europe). Normally they are well regulated. The double underlug design is also supposed to be very strong and durable, but I am not an expert so I can not say for sure. Also they are almost fully customizable when you order a new one: stock measurements, stock styles, barrel length, sights, engraving, etc. Also you can make requests for the factory load you want the rifle regulated for.

Con: Customer service could really be improved on. Also like many of the "factory" doubles (like Aya, etc), they can have quality control issues especially on finishing details. My top lever catch was not finished correctly on my new rifle. But hey, when I bought mine they were only selling for about $3,000 brand new so what can you expect...

Merkel: Handled many of them, and shot a 9.3 and 500NE. Also I have several friends who use them every weekend for boar hunting.
Pro: good solid rifle for the money. The ones I've shot were all well regulated (a 9.3 and a 500NE). They look to be solidly built, and the ones I've seen are very tight when new which seems to be a good sign of being solid (at least to my limited eyes).