400NitroExpress
(.400 member)
24/10/09 03:21 PM
Re: OSR, Double Damage and Barnes' Response

Quote:

Thanks for the info 400. I take it at face value.

I'll help with photos. I photo my knives for publication, and I know how tough it is to photo steel under lights. It IS difficult. I can give you some pointers, truthfully.

9.3:

As I think now you understand, the problem isn't with posting photos, it's taking them. In my late youth, I had several years of formal instruction in photography, so I'm not a novice. This isn't something that's a quick snap with a pocket digital.

It isn't raised to the extent that you can feel it, or see it from any side angle. In order to judge good barrel striking - and see OSR - the barrel must be viewed from the muzzle or breech with the eye no more than, say, 5 degrees from the axis of the bore. It's necessary to be looking into a light source, plus have a background to provide contrast, and a straight-edge. Further, focus must be precise, and depth of field will have to be deep for the camera to capture it. In the end, I'll probably need studio lights and backdrops. Based on my efforts so far, I can tell you it will be a trick.

Quote:

Look, ALL {?} of us have taken it on the chin financially in some way or another. Who hasn't gotten butched by some thing or another? Your gun broke. Maybe Barnes bullets caused it, or maybe it was ready to let go anyway?