DarylS
(.700 member)
05/09/07 04:01 AM
Re: .375 H & H or .375 Weatherby ?

Quote:

Terry Wieland in his book "Dangerous Game Rifles" points at the big difference between
the pronounced body taper of the original 375HH and almost parallel sides of the improved
version. The resulting increased case capacity he says allows higher velocity, but brings the danger of case-sticking because of higher pressures and almost parallel sides.
I think he has a point there.
Greetings,
Livinus

;
: Improved cases extract effortlessly at pressure levels that would freeze the same action when shot with the tapered case chamber. This is due to the straighter sided cases reducing bolt thrust. I've been shooting improved cases for over 35 years so have some meager experience with them. In all ctgs. and case sizes, the improved designs extract without trouble from strong bolt actions.
: For a tapered case to stick in a bolt gun, one must be loading at too high a pressure for that gun and chambering.
: Many barrels can run higher pressures with published loads, than given by the test barrel. This is why one ALWAYS starts low and 'developes' one's own data for his/her paticular rifle.
: I have never had cases stick in an improved chamber, from the .17AH to the .375 Weatherby, nor have I ever had hard bolt lift with any of them. However, get pressures a bit too high with a tapered case and the bolt will get sticky.