Ripp
(.577 member)
02/05/09 12:09 PM
Re: blue clothing and African hunting

Quote:

Quote:

I have the impression that different animals have different abilities to see different colors.

I don't recall wearing much blue while hunting in Africa, so I have no personal knowledge regarding how that would work, but I have had a moose come straight at me while I was wearing blue and sitting in the middle of an animal path in the forest. The only reason it stopped and turned around to flee when it reached 2 meters in front of me was because I moved by raising my rifle. So it clearly did not react negatively to the navy blue wool shirt I was wearing. Moose don't react much or at all to red or orange either for that sake.

+1

Erik, your experience with moose is similar to mine with deer and elk. Neither seem to be bothered by blue or any other color unless I'm moving, except my experience doesn't jibe with what I've read on the subject which is that blue is visible to game. I KNOW it is amazingly brilliant to me.

I taught my kids my kids they have Three Strikes; Smell, Visual Movement, Sound. They can afford one, maybe two, but if the critter sees, smells and hears you, go home and come back tomorrow. And smell is the worst offender of all.

Anyway, the absolute best camo on the planet IMHO is white on snow. Good grief, alot of critters are just plain brain dead in the presence of white snow camo against snow.

But even that is erased by smell and movement on top of it.

What you say is true in my experience as well,especially when it comes to scent..while bowhunting, if an animal hears something and you wait it out, you can usually get back in the game..but IF he smells you..game over..