Home | Ezine | Forums | Links | Contact
NitroExpress.com: .243 for deer?

View recent messages : 24 hours | 48 hours | 7 days | 14 days | 30 days | 60 days | More Smilies

*** Enjoy NitroExpress.com? Participate and join in. ***

Hunting >> Hunting in the Americas

Pages: 1
Gundog01
.333 member

Reged: 16/05/15
Loc: Ohio usa
.243 for deer?
      #286759 - 22/08/16 09:42 PM

I'am thinking of picking up a .243 for my girlfriend for deer hunting and I see that Westley Richards USA has a really nice .243. I have no experience with a .243, I have never hunted with anything under in the .30 range. But, I am thinking more recoil and usability for her. What say you guys, what are your experiences with .243?

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
NitroXAdministrator
.700 member

Reged: 25/12/02
Loc: Barossa Valley, South Australi...
Re: .243 for deer? [Re: Gundog01]
      #286762 - 22/08/16 10:23 PM

Had a look at the rifle. A very nice Westley Richards bolt action. It is fits or is fitted to a lady, should be very nice.

Haven't hunted with a .243 so can comment. Have used 6.5s though which isn't far off. But I wouldn't have a problem hunting medium game species with a .243 and a good 100 gr bullet with proper bullet placement.

I also have used my .222 to shoot a lot of feral goats, roos, deer etc. The .243 is far superior to the .22 centrefires.

If I wanted a rifle for a lady who didn't like recoil, I would consider a .243, 6.5x54mm, and 7x57 as the sort of cartridges suitable and still very effective.

--------------------
John aka NitroX

Govt get out of our lives NOW!
"I love the smell of cordite in the morning."
"A Sharp spear needs no polish"

Ripp
.577 member

Reged: 19/02/07
Loc: Montana, USA
Re: .243 for deer? [Re: Gundog01]
      #286764 - 22/08/16 11:08 PM