Home | Ezine | Forums | Links | Contact
NitroExpress.com: Peruvian Mauser - what to do?

View recent messages : 24 hours | 48 hours | 7 days | 14 days | 30 days | 60 days | More Smilies

*** Enjoy NitroExpress.com? Participate and join in. ***

Shooting & Reloading - Mausers, Big Bores and others >> Mauser Discussion Forum

akriet
.224 member

Reged: 12/01/05
Loc: in & of Dixie
Peruvian Mauser - what to do?
      21/07/08 10:17 AM

I'm thinking about what to do, if anything, with a 1909 Peruvian Mauser and would enjoy your thoughts and comments.

I am far from a Mauser expert, but this is what I understand from reading and observation: the 1909 Peruvian is a large ring (but small barrel thread) Oberndorf-made Mauser 98 (made 1910-1914) in 7.65 Agentine. It has a __x57 (is that called "intermediate") length bolt and magazine box. The ring has the ornate Peruvian cartouche and the words “MAUSER ORIGINAL”. The bridge has the high charger hump and the winged bolt stop cover that curves up and rests against the charger hump. Straight bolt handle with true pear-shaped knob.

My particular rifle is complete, though all the numbered parts are mismatched, the stock is in, at best, fair shape. The bore is dark. The gun is unaltered military. No pitting to speak of on the action (and no import or other such marks).

So, one option is to leave it alone - it may have some degree of collectible appeal as is.

But I keep thinking that this unique and attractive action is just languishing, unused, in its worn military dress. I can’t help myself but to envision it reborn as a fine, classic sporter reminiscent of the halcyon days of sporting Mausers, like an Oberndorf Sporter. This is the other option.