Home | Ezine | Forums | Links | Contact
NitroExpress.com: Lee Enfield help please.

View recent messages : 24 hours | 48 hours | 7 days | 14 days | 30 days | 60 days | More Smilies

*** Enjoy NitroExpress.com? Participate and join in. ***

Shooting & Reloading - Mausers, Big Bores and others >> Lee Speed Forum & Archive

Pages: 1 | 2 | >> (show all)
JohnK
.275 member

Reged: 02/12/06
Loc: Australia
Lee Enfield help please.
      #198571 - 03/01/12 02:28 PM

I am looking for a new project and am thinking of building a hunting rifle based on a Lee Speed action. Not for any particular reason other than I just feel the need to have one.

Now I have very little (almost none) knowledge about Lee Enfield or their derivatives, hence this post. I have searched the net looking for what ever info I could find but now need some expert assistance.

After ringing a friend I was shown an action which just might be what I am after and was seeking some info about that particular action. Any info would be appreciated. History etc.

I have posted some photos of the action which I think will assist.

The main marking is E.R. BSA Co. 1902 LE 1 *.

Bolt and action serial numbers match.

There is also a spare bolt which has a safety catch incorporated. I assume that this bolt is from a later production?

Can anyone assist with some information please? Any suggestions re suitability of action for project.

--------------------
JohnK

Edited by CptCurl (03/01/12 11:04 PM)

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
JohnK
.275 member

Re: Lee Enfield help please. [Re: JohnK]
      #198585 - 03/01/12 06:03 PM

I have been doing a bit more research and from other markings I have found this,

Two Broadarrows with the letters VIC in between. It would seem that this rifle was originally used in Australia.

VIC Victoria Second largest colony in Australia, the broad arrow was not as widely used here as elsewhere. Other letters and marks may appear above or below the VIC mark.