Home | Ezine | Forums | Links | Contact
NitroExpress.com: Alpine Ibex Hunt Report

View recent messages : 24 hours | 48 hours | 7 days | 14 days | 30 days | 60 days | More Smilies

*** Enjoy NitroExpress.com? Participate and join in. ***

Hunting >> Hunting in Europe

Pages: 1
Orvar
.300 member

Reged: 31/12/08
Loc: London, UK
Alpine Ibex Hunt Report
      #253747 - 20/09/14 03:27 AM

Outfitter : Swiss Fauna & Flora Department
Guides : Didier, Gerard and his cousin
Rifle : (wife’s) Blaser R93; .300 Win Mag.

As I posted before, I have been applying to the Swiss Hunting authorities for a few years now, for a permit to hunt Alpine Ibex – and this year I was approved. The trip was a bit rushed, due to lack of time to plan and prepare; so I grabbed the mountain hunting gear, and my wife’s 300WM (which was the only rifle I could find at home that the Swiss would accept the paperwork for – long story). Booked flights on Air France from Paris to Geneva, and a car from there, and I was off… or so I thought. AF ended up going on strike (as usual), and canceling my flight. Long story short, I drove 8+ hours from Sologne France, to Martigny Switzerland. The guide suggested I stay at the Forum Hotel in Martigny, which is acceptable, is a bit bare. The only issue was them turning the AC off around midnight, and it was stifling hot in my room. Slept with the windows open – but with a street lamp ~ 20ft away… was not the greatest sleep of my life.

Woke up this morning, and the guides and I were off as agreed around 6:30am. Didier has shown me a photo of a big Ibex he’d seen 10 days ago, and it was definitely worth us spending a day trying to find him. I’ll post a picture of the Ibex from scouting once Didier sends it to me. We were going to be hunting above the new hydro-dam above Emosson. The area is absolutely magical – the scenery breathtaking