Home | Ezine | Forums | Links | Contact
NitroExpress.com: Performance withthe 9.3X57 Mauser?

View recent messages : 24 hours | 48 hours | 7 days | 14 days | 30 days | 60 days | More Smilies

*** Enjoy NitroExpress.com? Participate and join in. ***

Shooting & Reloading - Mausers, Big Bores and others >> Rifles

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | >> (show all)
szihn
.400 member

Reged: 24/06/07
Loc: Wind River Valley, Wyoming
Performance withthe 9.3X57 Mauser?
      #301765 - 15/06/17 02:37 AM

Hello to all.
Who here has hunting and killed game with a 9.3X57 Mauser Cartridge?

I am looking for information and stories about the performance of the cartridge on game and details of the shot angles, range, and bullet used, velocity (barrel length may help)wound channels and bone broken and so on.

I am hoping to make one for myself this year along with a 9.3X62 I am making now.

I own and have used a 9.3X74R in my Ruger #1 quite a lot, so I have some experience with the it. I will assume I will see nothing much different from the 9.3X62. But storied about the use of the 9.3X57 are rare in the USA.
Please,,,,,do tell.

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Igorrock
.400 member

Reged: 01/03/07
Loc: Finland
Re: Performance withthe 9.3X57 Mauser? [Re: szihn]
      #301841 - 16/06/17 05:16 PM

9,3x57 used to be popular caliber among moose hunters in Sweden. Itīs very usefull when shooting distances are less than 150 meter and forest is dense. I think the most popular bullet in 9,3x57 would be NORMA Alaska. It works well in slower speed.

IMO there is no rational reason to own both 9,3x57 and x62, especially if you reload yours ammo.

--------------------
http://promaakari.wordpress.com/

HeymSR20
.300 member

Reged: 23/11/11
Loc: Scotland
Re: Performance withthe 9.3X57 Mauser? [Re: Igorrock]
      #301845 - 16/06/17 07:17 PM