Home | Ezine | Forums | Links | Contact
NitroExpress.com: Ok dumb question?

View recent messages : 24 hours | 48 hours | 7 days | 14 days | 30 days | 60 days | More Smilies

*** Enjoy NitroExpress.com? Participate and join in. ***

Double Rifles, Single Shots & Combinations >> Paradox and Bore Guns

Pages: 1
MichaelR
.224 member

Reged: 08/03/08
Loc: NE, US
Ok dumb question?
      #139389 - 23/07/09 01:31 PM

what exactly is the difference between a shotgun with a rifled barrel, in lets say 20 gauge, and a bore gun in 20 bore??

Is this a bore gun or rifled shotgun? CSM rifled gun

I just moved to Iowa and guess what NO center fire rifle deer season, well that's not exactly true as a resident I can hunt with a center fire during the last firearms season of the year(2 wks) and only antlerless.

thanks
mike

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
tinkerModerator
.416 member

Reged: 12/03/05
Loc: Nevada
Re: Ok dumb question? [Re: MichaelR]
      #139394 - 23/07/09 02:46 PM

Mike-

I think that the *value in difference* that you can take home -- the *good news for you* -- is that you can hunt with the CSM 20-bore SxS in your 'no centerfire rifle' season.

If the game warden walks up to you (and you're hunting with one of those nice little guns) in the woods with a 'whatchya got there?' inquiry, you can drop a 20-bore shotgun shell in the chamber and touch it off for him.

I've had this conversation with game wardens (on the telephone) from states where there are 'shotgun only', 'no centerfire rifle' seasons. Explained what I had and that I'd like to know if I could hunt their states with my bore-rifles. What it came down to was whether or not they'd be able to chamber and fire a shotgun shell in the chambers.

Call your game warden and have the conversation with him.
Get it straight from the top.
I'm guessing you'll be able to hunt with the CSM 20-bore.

At the end of the day, we know the distinction.